www.mobot.org Research Home | Search | Contact | Site Map  
 
Research
W³TROPICOS
QUICK SEARCH

MO PROJECTS:
Africa
Asia/Pacific
Mesoamerica
North America
South America
Floras
General Taxonomy
Photo Essays
Training in Latin
  America

MO RESEARCH:
Wm. L. Brown Center
Bryology
GIS
Graduate Studies
Research Experiences
  for Undergraduates

Imaging Lab
Library
MBG Press
Publications
Climate Change
Catalog Fossil Plants
MO DATABASES:
W³MOST
Image Index
Rare Books
Angiosperm
  Phylogeny

Res Botanica
All Databases
INFORMATION:
What's New?
People at MO
Visitor's Guide
Herbarium
Jobs & Fellowships
Symposium
Research Links
Site Map
Search

  News from MO - 2001 Table of Contents  

 
Research Associates

C. Dennis Adams, The Natural History Museum, London, U.K.; flora of the Caribbean, Spermacoceae (Rubiaceae), Urticaceae.

William S. Alverson, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois; Bombacaceae, Malvales, conservation biology (northern temperate forests). walverso@oeb.harvard.edu

John W. Andresen, University of Illinois, Urbana; urban forestry. jandresen@staff.uiuc.edu

James Aronson, Centre d'Ecologie Fonctionelle et Evolutive, Montpellier, France; restoration and rehabilitation ecology of arid and semi-arid lands. aronson@srvlinux.cefe.cnrs-mop.fr

Mary T. Kalin Arroyo, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile; breeding systems, community pollination ecology, plant biogeography in high altitude communities, temperate forests, and Mediterranean vegetation in Chile.

Harvey E. Ballard, Jr., Ohio University, Athens; Violaceae. ballardh@oak.cats.ohiou.edu

Theodore M. Barkley, Botanical Research Institute of Texas; floristics of the Great Plains and North America, neotropical Senecioneae, systematics of weeds. barkley@mesquite.brit.org

Lisa Barnett, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.; Sterculiaceae and related Malvales. stridc.lbarnett@ic.si.edu

Isabel de Basualdo, Universidad Nacional del Paraguay, Asunción, Paraguay; Rosaceae, medicinal plants, flora of Paraguay.

Dorothea Bedigian, Washington University, St. Louis; indigenous diversity of Sesame: crop management, cultivation and domestication. Natural history of wild Sesamum and relationships with cultivated sesame in Africa, Southwest Asia. dbedigian@yahoo.com

Peter Bernhardt (see Associated University Faculty).

Paul E. Berry, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Flora of the Venezuelan Guayana, Fuchsia (Onagraceae). peberry@facstaff.wisc.edu

Michael G. Bingham, Lusaka, Zambia; Zambezian woodland flora. mbingham@zamnet.zm

Frank Bisby, Reading University, Reading, U.K.; Vicieae, Lathyrus (Fabaceae), informatics. f.a.bisby@reading.ac.uk

Robert Bolla (see Associated University Faculty).

Frank D. Bowers, Mountain Home, Arkansas; bryophytes.

Lois Brako, University of Wisconsin-Madison; research services, tropical lichens. lbrako@mail.bascom.wisc.edu

Jeremy J. Bruhl, University of New England, Armidale, Australia; Phyllantheae (Euphorbiaceae), Cyperaceae. jbruhl@metz.une.edu.au

Ricardo Callejas, Universidad de Antioquia, Medellín, Colombia; Piperaceae. callejas@matematicas.udea.edu.co

Bruce Carr, St. Louis Zoological Park, St. Louis, Missouri.

Richard R. Clinebell, Missouri Botanical Garden; pollination biology of the genus Gaura, Onagraceae. ric.clinebell@mobot.org

David G. Corley, Novartis Consumer Health S.A.; nutrition science. david.corley@ch.novartis.com

Barbara Crandall-Stotler, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale; bryophytes (hepatics and anthocerotes). crandall@plant.siu.edu

Carl Darigo, St. Louis, Missouri; mosses. carl.darigo@juno.com

Petra DeBlock, National Botanic Garden of Belgium, Meise; African Rubiaceae.

Philip J. DeVries, University of Oregon-Eugene; caterpillar-ant-plant symbioses, host plant relationships of tropical butterflies. pdevries@darkwing.uoregon.edu

Werner Dietrich, Botanischer Garten, Heinrich-Heine-Universität, Düsseldorf, Germany; Oenothera (Onagraceae).

Michael O. Dillon, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois; neotropical Asteraceae. dillon@abis.fmnh.org

W. Hardy Eshbaugh, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio; Capsicum (Solanaceae). eshbaugh@muohio.edu

Don Faber-Langendoen, The Nature Conservancy, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota. dfaber-lang@tnc.org

Robert Faden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.; Commelinaceae; flora of tropical Africa. mnhbo043@sivm.si.edu

Trish Flaster, Boulder, Colorado; natural products consultant. tflaster@rmii.com

Donna I. Ford-Werntz, West Virginia University, Morgantown; Calandrinia, Montiopsis (Portulacaceae); flora of West Virginia. diford@wvu.edu

James S. Fralish, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Illinois; forestry. fralish@siu.edu

Robin B. Foster, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois; ecological and floristic inventory work in South America.

Alina Freire-Fierro, Herbario Nacional del Ecuador QCNE, Museo Ecuatoriano de Ciencias Naturales; flora of Ecuador, Aciotis (Melastomataceae). aff@joethejuggler.com or alina.freire@mobot.org

L. L. Gaddy, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina; vascular flora of the headwaters of the Savannah River.

Alan Graham, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio; tertiary history of northern Latin America via pollen and spore analysis. agraham@biology.kent.edu

Gu Hong-ya, Peking University of Beijing, Beijing, China; isolation of agriculturally important genes in rice, molecular evolution of certain plant groups. guhy@lsc.pku.edu.cn

David Harris, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh; African plants, Irvingiaceae. d.harris@rbge.org.uk

Thomas E. Hawkins, Wallingford, Pennsylvania; Mesoamerican flora, forestry. hawkins@voicenet.com

Steven R. Hill, Illinois Natural History Survey; Malvaceae. srhill@mail.inhs.uiuc.edu

Bruce Holst, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota, Florida; Flora of the Venezuelan Guayana, neotropical Myrtaceae, Bromeliaceae (Pitcairnioideae). bholst@virtu.sar.usf.edu

Hugh H. Iltis, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Capparaceae, flora of Wisconsin. tscochra@facstaff.wisc.edu

Robert Ireland, Annandale, Virginia; bryophytes. robertireland@hotmail.com

Dale Johnson, Timber Press, Portland, Oregon; Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers. dale@timberpress.com

Valerie Kapos, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K., and University of Washington, Seattle; Amazonian forest ecology.

Richard Keating, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville (retired); Solanaceae, leaf architecture in flowering plants. richard.keating@mobot.org

Elizabeth Kellogg (see Associated University Faculty).

Robin C. Kennedy, University of Missouri-Columbia; Epilobium (Onagraceae).

Robert M. King, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.; Asteraceae.

David G. I. Kingston, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; natural products chemistry. dkingston@vt.edu

Kaoru Kitajima, University of Florida, Gainesville; seedling ecology.

Kim Kleinman, Webster University, St. Louis, Missouri; history of science. kleinman@stlnet.com

Job Kuijt, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada; mistletoes.

Jean-Noël Labat, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, Paris; biogeography, population biology. labat.mnhn.fr

Douglas M. Ladd, The Nature Conservancy (Missouri Field Office), St. Louis; natural area assessment and management, lichen floristics. ladd@mobot.org

W. Joseph Leverich (see Associated University Faculty).

Geoffrey A. Levin, Illinois Natural History Survey, Champaign; Euphorbiaceae. levin1@uiuc.edu

Milton Lieberman, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks; forest dynamics and restoration in Costa Rica and other tropical countries.

David H. Lorence, National Tropical Botanical Garden, Lawai, Hawaii; Mexican and Central American Rubiaceae, Monimiaceae of Madagascar, and plants of Hawaiian Islands and Polynesia. lorence@aloha.net

Timothy K. Lowrey, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque; Asteraceae, Nepenthaceae.

Cecile Lumer, Bisbee, Arizona; plant reproductive biology, plant-animal interactions, community ecology, tropical ecology. Cecile@theriver.com

Richard Mansell, University of South Florida, Tampa; plant chemistry, Araceae.

Robert Marquis (see Associated University Faculty).

Willem Meijer, University of Kentucky, Lexington (retired); Tiliaceae, Rafflesiaceae.

Brien Meilleur, ethnobiology, anthropology. meilleur@primary.net

Robert H. Mohlenbrock, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale (retired); flora of Illinois and other midwestern areas, tropical legumes, and wetland flora.

Stephen Mulkey, University of Florida, Gainesville; ecological physiology of canopy plants in tropical forests.

Jesús Muñoz, Real Jardín Botánico, Madrid; bryophytes. jmunoz@ma-rjb.csic.es

Nalini Nadkarni, Evergreen State College, Olympia, Washington; epiphyte community ecology.

Knut Norstog and Priscilla Fawcett, Waterloo, Illinois; Cycadaceae.

Ching-I Peng, Institute of Botany, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan; biosystematics of species of Onagraceae, Begoniaceae, Aristolochiaceae, Primulaceae, Asteraceae, and Commelinaceae of Taiwan.

Oliver Phillips, University of Leeds; plant community ecology. oliverp@geog.leeds.ac.uk

Peter B. Phillipson, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa; flora of Madagascar. P.Phillipson@ru.ac.za

George Pilz, Escuela Agrícola Panamericana, Zamorano, Honduras; Mesoamerican Nyctaginaceae. eaphpcs@ns.hondunet.net

John J. Pipoly, III, Fairchild Tropical Garden, Miami, Florida. jpipoly@fairchildgarden.org

Roger M. Polhill, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (retired); legumes and African mistletoes. r.polhill@rbgkew.org.uk

Ronald A. Pursell, Pennsylvania State University, University Park; bryophytes (Fissidentaceae, Bryoxiphiaceae, Erpodiaceae). rap10@psuvm.psu.edu

Paul Redfearn, Jr., Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield; mosses of China and the interior highlands of North America, North American Leucobryum (Dicranaceae). plr426g@vma.smsu.edu

William Reese, University of Southwestern Louisiana, Lafayette; pantropical Calymperaceae. wdr5583@usl.edu

Susanne Renner (see Associated University Faculty).

James L. Reveal, University of Maryland, College Park; vascular flora of the Intermountain West, history of botanical research and exploration. jr19@umail.umd.edu

Carlos Reynel, Universidad Nacional Agraria-La Molina, Lima, Peru; flora of Peru, flora of southern Amazonian Peru, systematics of New World Zanthoxylum (Rutaceae). reynel@lamolina01.lamolina.edu.pe

R. Laurie Robbins, Emporia State University, Emporia, Kansas; Mesoamerican arborescent Sapindaceae. robbinsl@esumail.emporia.edu

Steven Rogstad, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio; systematics and population biology of selected Malesian and north temperate plant species. Steven.Rogstad@UC.edu

Ricardo Rueda, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Nicaragua-León, León, Nicaragua; Verbenaceae, ethnobotany, flora of Nicaragua, especially the Bosawas and Indio Maiz Reserves. rueda@nicarao.apc.org.ni

Tammy Sage, University of Toronto; plant reproductive physiology and development. tsage@botany.utoronto.ca

Barbara Schaal (see Associated University Faculty).

David Seigler, University of Illinois, Urbana; the role of plant secondary compounds, especially cyanogenic compounds, in biological interactions. d-seigler@uiuc.edu

Sylvia Duran Sharnoff and Stephen Sharnoff, Berkeley, California; North American lichens.

A. Jonathan Shaw, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina; bryophytes. Shaw@Duke.edu

R. D. Sheffer, Indiana University Northwest, Gary; biosystematic studies of Anthurium and Syngonium (Araceae).

Alan R. Smith, University of California-Berkeley; neotropical ferns, especially Thelypteridaceae and Grammitidaceae. smith@ucjeps.Herb.Berkeley.edu

Neil Snow, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, Colorado; grasses, Myrtaceae. nsnow@bentley.unco.edu

Victoria Sork (see Associated University Faculty).

Lloyd Stark, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; bryophytes. lrs@nevada.edu

Kim Steiner, National Botanical Garden, Kirstenbosch, South Africa; Diascia (Scrophulariaceae) and the evolution of oil secretion as a pollination syndrome. STEINER@nbict.nbi.ac.za

Peter Stevens (see Associated University Faculty).

Raymond E. Stotler, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale; bryophytes (hepatics and anthocerotes). stotler@plant.siu.edu

Alan R. Templeton (see Associated University Faculty).

Stephen L. Timme, Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, Kansas; bryophytes. slt@pittstate.edu

Carol A. Todzia, University of Texas, Austin; Chloranthaceae, Ulmaceae, Orchidaceae and Tibouchina (Melastomataceae). ctodzia@mail.utexas.edu

Anthony R. Torkelson, St. Louis, Missouri; natural products chemistry.

Thomas Valone, Saint Louis University, St. Louis, Missouri; ecology of arid ecosystems, foraging ecology and theory. valone@slu.edu

Alan Whittemore, U.S. National Arboretum, Washington, D.C.; hepatics. whittema@ars.usda.gov

Justyna Wiland-Szymanska, Adam Mickiewicz University, tropical African Hypoxidaceae.

Chris Wilks, Libreville, Gabon; forest inventory and environmental surveys.

George A. Yatskievych (see his webpage).

David A. Young, Arizona State University, Tempe; systematics of Anacardiaceae. david.young@asu.edu

Top | Table of Contents

News from MO 2001 was created by Kathy Hurlbert, Leslie Miller, Eloise Cannady and Mary Merello (October 2001) and placed on the MOBOT webserver 1/22/02.

 

 
 
© 1995-2014 Missouri Botanical Garden, All Rights Reserved
P.O. Box 299, St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
(314) 577-5100

E-mail
Technical Support