7. CLYTOSTOMA Miers ex Bureau, Adansonia 8: 353. 1868.

Lianas, the branchlets tetragonal to subterete, without interpetiolar glandular fields; pseudostipules usually a cluster of subulate-lanceolate cataphylls resembling a minute bromeliad. Leaves simple to 2-foliolate, often with a terminal simple tendril. Inflorescence a few-flowered panicle or a 1-few-flowered axillary or terminal fascicle. Calyx cupular to campanulate, truncate, usually 5-denticulate, variously sublepidote to puberulous; corolla white to purple, tubular-funnel-shaped, puberulous or glandular-lepidote outside. Anthers glabrous, the thecae straight, divaricate. Ovary ovoid-cylindric, minutely blunt-tuberculate with thick 1-celled glandular trichomes; ovules 2-4-seriate in each locule; disk lacking or vestigial. Fruit an ellipsoid or suborbicular capsule, the valves parallel to the septum, woody, echinate with retrorse spines. Seeds with a rather thick, corky body and with or without wings.

Mexico to Uruguay and northern Argentina; 10 species, 4 in Venezuela, 2 of these in the flora area.

Key to the Species of Clytostoma

1. Branchlets subterete to subtetragonal; corolla tube puberulous outside; seeds unwinged ..... C. binatum

1. Branchlets acutely tetragonal with winged angles; corolla tube conspicuously lepidote outside; seeds winged ..... C. sciuripabulum

Clytostoma binatum (Thunb.) Sandwith, Recueil Trav. Bot. Néerl. 34: 235. 1937. -Bignonia binata Thunb., Pl. Bras. 3: 35. 1821. -Barquiz morado.

Liana. Mostly swampy or riverside forests, 50-500 m; widespread in Delta Amacuro, Bolívar, and Amazonas. Anzoátegui, Apure, Guárico, Nueva Esparta, Sucre, Táchira, Zulia; southern Mexico, Central America, to southern Brazil, Bolivia, and northern Argentina. Fig. 366.

Clytostoma sciuripabulum Bureau & K. Schum. in Mart., Fl. Bras. 8(2): 149. 1896.

Liana. Moist nonflooded evergreen lowland forests, 50-100 m; Delta Amacuro (lower Río Orinoco), Bolívar (Serranía de Imataca), Amazonas (locality unknown). Anzoátegui, Apure, Distrito Federal, Lara, Miranda, Nueva Esparta; Costa Rica, Colombia, Guyana, Ecuador, Peru, Brazil, Bolivia, Paraguay, Argentina.

previous page back to the Table of Contents next page